Aha Life!

I must admit I was rather inspired by gunT’s satirical post: Myth-yeah! And though I wrote something to the contrary, I sure felt the gunT of small things cant be wrong. Over a cup of coffee, I ponder over why life sucks so bad and if there is something one can do about it. You have definitely come across people who say You don’t get everything in life. You can appreciate light if you didn’t know sadness. With all due respects, I think this is crap. Put the same people in the other shoes and you know what I am talking about*. Its definitely the one who is going through, who knows how difficult it is to appreciate what is being said. What strikes me is that instead of a plain old ‘Life Sucks’, people provide unlimited fundes on light and its absence. I believe humans like living in self-denial. And hence the lecture on something good waiting round the corner.

I have a hypothesis to make at this point: There is no possible answer to life. It is an open-ended equation with no solution. You think the solution to it is the goal of your life and living constitutes looking for an answer. Apparently no one knows if it has one. No one actually got out of it alive**. By mathematical induction, over several generations of fruitless lives lived all over the universe, I assert my hypothesis correct for lack of proof. Think of it as a hand of poker or gambling in general. You get dealt good cards once in a while just to keep your interest alive in the game. But then, the whole city of Las Vegas is proof to the fact that there is no such thing as a win. Life is just the same: it is a sinking ship- nothing more.

So then, how do we beat life? Death is an imminent answer. But seriously, what are the odds? Life, for all you know, is ‘so’ beautiful. Death has to be worse. My contention is that life wins each time because we expect something out of it. We mess ourselves because we want good things to happen to us- to go round the corner and fetch the prize ‘awaiting’ us. My answer to life is apathy- Not antipathy, but apathy. If you are not going to ‘get’ it anyway; dont ‘ask’. Life will still suck, but now you give a damn about it. So, again, life, in all your finery, throw all you can at me and ask me if I care.

*For example, lets assume that you liked cake. Cake is the one thing you wanted all your life. Your whole career is focussed towards this cake. You have lived for your cake and went through hell for a piece of cake. Then there comes a day when you are ready to eat it, someone, apparently more deserving, snatches it right off your mouth and eats it in front of you. You are flummoxed and frustrated. There is no logical conclusion as to why you didnt get to eat it.
**At this point, I must excuse myself from the god-related overtures you may be brooding upon. I have come to a conclusion that this exercise is as futile as pricking your eyes with a fork to sharpen it.

6 Responses to “Aha Life!”

  1. kowsik Says:

    I concur. Our hopes on the Indian cricket team run along similar lines too 🙂

  2. Srikumar Says:

    We do not succeed in changing things according to our desire, but gradually our desire changes. The situation that we hoped to change because it was intolerable becomes unimportant. We have not managed to surmount the obstacle, as we were absolutely determined to do, but life has taken us round it, led us past it, and then if we turn round to gaze at the remote past, we can barely catch sight of it, so imperceptible has it become.
    ~Marcel Proust

  3. onechance Says:

    Kowsik, the team India blue is just one another brick in the wall

    Sri, what if there is no desire? What if there is no other bend that life would take us around of? Its the drive that is the problem.

  4. arpita Says:

    i enjoyed this post the most,
    i have been facing this prob: there’s no desire to run after things, if my success in any field doesnt make me any happier than the failure wudnt bother me much either but then what’s the drive? where’s the motivation? still finding the answer…

  5. Govind Says:

    Let me plz take a while to analyze that..and ask my queries and raise my doubts….

    Over a cup of coffee, I ponder over why life sucks so bad and if there is something one can do about it.

    I have a hypothesis to make at this point: There is no possible answer to life. It is an open-ended equation with no solution.

    Life is just the same: it is a sinking ship- nothing more.

    There really is no possible answer to life…but then should we straightaway assume life is a sinking ship!? And then again, how come its not a sailiing ship?

    So then, how do we beat life? Death is an imminent answer. But seriously, what are the odds? Life, for all you know, is ’so’ beautiful. Death has to be worse.

    Death is even beyond worst…for people who live for themselves (that is like almost the entire world population btw)…and/or for people who think life to be so darn beautiful that they keep wanting to live it…..and then again, live it for themselves. Live a life for others…and a) u’ve beaten death; b) death would no longer be an imminent answer.

    My contention is that life wins each time because we expect something out of it.

    For the record…I am an atheist…but isn’t that what all those saints and sadhu-babas, etc. have been saying ever since!

  6. onechance Says:

    but then should we straightaway assume life is a sinking ship!? And then again, how come its not a sailiing ship?
    Heard of the word opinion?

    Death is even beyond worst…
    Thatsa pretty bold statement to make, specially of something you have no clue of, given your question above.

    Live a life for others…and a) u’ve beaten death; b) death would no longer be an imminent answer.
    I think we have to stop watching Hindi movies here. Or watch the IBM ad or something. Or lets just keep quibbling and philosophizing.

    For the record…I am an atheist…but isn’t that what all those saints and sadhu-babas, etc. have been saying ever since!
    One particular “Sadhu-Baba” started it, some people call him Krishna, in a beautiful commentary on Life, the Universe and Everything incidentally called Gita. The bane of our times is everyone seems to know it; no one realizes. If what you are trying to imply is that I am repeating what this great person once said, you have seen what I was getting to. How I understood it was rather differently though.

    Coming back to the topic of theism; can you explain origin of the universe and the conservation of energy in one sentence?

    PS: Kindly do not try “The God delusion” on me. It converted me from an atheist to an agnostic.

Leave a Reply

