Why I will vote for the BJP in this election

BJP’s Prime Ministerial candidate L K Advani on Saturday said if NDA is voted to power, it will make Multi-purpose National Identity Cards mandatory [Link]

For this and this only- And really, nothing else. An old post on why this is important to me.

10 Responses to “Why I will vote for the BJP in this election”

  1. Anonymi Says:

    Let us place a wager here. I say, if this system ever comes to effect, we will see counterfeiting and fraud on a scale that will cripple the system the same year it is introduced. Also, there will be at least one scandal on kickbacks involving who gets to run the mammoth project or the sorts. All in all, we will be poorer than now and yet no more safer.

    If anything, I would vote for BJP for their uniform civil code promise. Are they still behind that?

  2. kowsik Says:

    Driver’s license and PAN card are slowly being made necessities, aren’t they?

  3. Anonymi Says:

    The driver’s license system is fairly close to the mess that a national ID system would be in. Assuming we’ve all got an Indian driving license, you can relate to exactly what I am trying to get at. Only about 35 million of India’s 1.3 billion pay income tax. I would put the number of PAN cards in that ballpark; although having multiple PAN numbers is not unheard of and one could technically have a PAN number without paying taxes.

    I am not trying to be deliberately negative in blocking off suggestions of an identification system. I am only saying that we first need to fix other systems, without which, any national ID system is doomed to fail, rather expensively.

  4. kowsik Says:

    Once the ID system is taken up, they will immediately face the inevitability of police-reform. I don’t think we have much to lose by going on that road. Money will always be wasted, if not on this, then on some ‘scheme’ or other. Fake-id’s are an issue even in the US, so I doubt if we can ever have a foolproof system. Should it mean that we shouldn’t even try?

  5. Anonymi Says:

    Once the ID system is taken up, they will immediately face the inevitability of police-reform.

    Precisely what I am saying won’t happen. If you entrust an already minimally effectual and majorly overworked police force, with a lot more work, we will not see it magically transform into something better. If anything, it will become more corrupt than it already. Like I’ve been told a million time in my school, “beta, you’ve got to get the foundation right before you try to a build a superstructure”. If the purpose is to waste money, here is a suggestion.

    By the way, about the ID system US (as in SSN), I am not particularly sure if SSN exists to help fight crime (especially the kind our national ID purports to fight). If it is, I would be terribly skeptical about it’s effectiveness.

  6. onechance Says:

    Sri,
    I am going to pick on two of your comments:
    I am only saying that we first need to fix other systems, without which, any national ID system is doomed to fail, rather expensively.
    What other systems? My problem with your exception to the NID – that it will be ineffective in our setup – is that the exception is only as valid as that of implementation in any other system. I think Kowsik said that – in a less confusing manner.

    Precisely what I am saying won’t happen. If you entrust an already minimally effectual and majorly overworked police force, with a lot more work, we will not see it magically transform into something better. If anything, it will become more corrupt than it already.
    On a similar token, If police in India is corrupt, they will remain corrupt irrespective of how many of them are there and/ or with the incremental salary/ facilities you can provide to all personnel in an establishment like the Indian police. Arent they making their moolah elsewhere, anyway? Or are you saying that by handing them a AK-56 instead of thier danda will suddenly make them feel important?
    My point is – you cannot do anything to boost a minimally effectual police force other than make them accountable. Majorly overworked, you said? So are you implying that we utilize the funds otherwise available for having a National ID into recruiting more of these minimally effectual people to do the same jobs ineffectively?

    Sri, to put it simply-and correct me if I am wrong- what I am saying is, funds must be used to provide means to an existing system to do what it is supposed to. And you are talking about recruiting more ineffective personnel.

    I am not particularly sure if SSN exists to help fight crime (especially the kind our national ID purports to fight). If it is, I would be terribly skeptical about it’s effectiveness.
    I dont know if SSN fights crime or not. All I am saying is over a period of time, over which it will be implemented into the Indian system, it will make life difficult for wrong-doers and not just the terrorists – and if not, atleast provide some means to effectively do enforce the law of our land.

    Sorry I didnt watch the video in your link yet.

  7. Anonymi Says:

    So are you implying that we utilize the funds otherwise available for having a National ID into recruiting more of these minimally effectual people to do the same jobs ineffectively?

    I know that is a rhetorical question, but right on! The point is that there are plenty of well proven methods to construct an effective police force (lets start with better training) and I think these should be tried before adopting an unproven system. To top it the probability of failure of that unproven system, given the current conditions, is unacceptably high. I think I even linked the other day to RAW chief’s blog, and what he thought was wrong with our police; the lack of personnel. Every time someone proposes something as inexplicable like this, do we need to stand on the hill and shout out the reality of limited resources?

  8. Archana Says:

    I say, if this system ever comes to effect, we will see counterfeiting and fraud on a scale that will cripple the system the same year it is introduced.

    @Anonymi,

    It would be a cursed brain father, who contemplates a widow out of a daughter getting married.

    (Could not read all of the comments, and I don’t religiously counter-comment hence pardon if a little over-board.)

  9. Anonymi Says:

    @ Archana

    I don’t fight straw men 🙂

  10. Archana Says:

    Good fidelity towards ‘man-kind’ 🙂

Leave a Reply

